BOTM

* Sponsors

Author Topic: Dyna S vs. Newtronic ignition for aircooled RD350  (Read 6627 times)

Offline WYRDMAN

Dyna S vs. Newtronic ignition for aircooled RD350
« on: October 12, 2009, 12:28:54 PM »
Another Newbie here...I'm going to put some type of electronic ignition on my recently purchased 73 RD350. I've been reading old posts and I like the modified Dyna S system but I have some questions......Are Dyna S users running the stock coils?     Is the Dyna S system better than the Newtronics system and if yes, why?    Does the Dyna S system put out a hotter spark than the Newtronics System?    Thanks in advance

Offline frank B

• Addict
Re: Dyna S vs. Newtronic ignition for aircooled RD350
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2009, 07:47:39 PM »
I thought the Dyna S was just replacing the points, the switch or trigger of the ignition. The coils are what gives you a hotter spark.

read this
http://www.2strokeworld.com/forum/index.php?topic=1306.0
76 RD125

Offline WYRDMAN

« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2009, 11:15:24 PM »
Thanks Frank,
I'm wondering if the pickups of the Dyna S are primary coils. If they are primary coils do they send more current into the stock secondary coils than the stock points system to produce a hotter spark? If I'm on the right track here this would be an advantage over the Newtronics system where optical triggers are replacing points. I'm trying to decide if taking the time to fabricate the parts to make the Dyna S system will result in a better ignition than buying a ready-made Newtronics system.

Offline poppaweely

• Administrator
  • Dr. 2-Stroke, M.D.
  • Live as much as you can, today.
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2009, 01:33:11 PM »